On occasion, we all enjoy nosing about in other people’s online profiles just for fun. It’s easy to go unnoticed until you do something very weird, like liking a post from 83 weeks ago. On Instagram or Twitter, no one will know if you’ve looked at their profile 12 times that day,
But on TikTok, some users may notice if you’ve viewed their page. The app’s “Profile View History” setting allows users to see who has viewed their profile and when; thankfully, this function can be turned on and off at will.
Initially, there are some prerequisites to view a user’s profile view history. TikTok requires users to be at least 16 years old when they sign up for the service, and those with fewer than 5,000 followers are restricted from viewing who has viewed their profiles.
Those who match the requirements can check who has viewed their profile in the preceding 30 days. You should also know that if you enable the option to observe your page’s visitors, other users will be able to see your name when you examine their profiles. Keep profile views on, but cyber stalk with caution.
How To Turn Off TikTok Profile Views In Settings
Click the profile button in the upper right corner to access your information. Then, select the options menu by tapping the button with three lines. To adjust your privacy settings, select “Settings and privacy” next to the gear symbol.
Continue scrolling until you reach “Profile views,” which is represented by a set of footprints. When you tap it, you’ll be able to turn on or off the “Profile view history” option.
How To Turn Off TikTok Profile Views History In Views Page
Your Profile view history can be disabled from the Profile views page, which can be accessed through the notification you receive when someone sees your profile. To get there, all you have to do is click the footprint icon that appears in the upper right corner of your profile (next to settings).
A single button press will activate it at that point. It’s up to you whether to enable this option; if you do, you’ll be free to explore the many hidden corners of TikTok.
If I Turn Off Profile Views on TikTok, Will They Know?
The good news is… When you disable profile views, no one will be able to tell the difference. How come, you ask? Simply click on the “Profile Views” tab, and you’ll be presented with a list of every user who has viewed your profile in the past 30 days. Each user has their own personal and secure copy of this list.
In another way, only you can see who has viewed your profile. So, if you disable profile views, you will not be able to see who has viewed your profile. If you visit someone else’s profile while having this function turned off on your end, you will not be included in their list of profile views. Not a clue will get through to them! The question is how they could possibly find out.
If you do pay them a visit, they are not mind readers or sages who can foresee your actions. As a result of the profile views feature’s adherence to the concept of fairness, both parties can watch each other’s visiting activities when both enable the function, but neither can view each other’s profile views when just one of them does so.
How Does The Profile Views Feature Work?
The concept of a profile view can be compared to a one-way mirror. If you allow profile views, the other person will be able to see when you’ve peeked at their profile and vice versa. Isn’t that just and fair? But not always, as the profile views feature can cause quite a deal of discomfort if you are a silent lurker on the app who visits profiles frequently but innocuously.
In this scenario, you may want to replace the window with a one-way mirror so that you can still see everything clearly while preventing the other person from seeing your profile. With TikTok, however, this is not how profile views function.
To avoid leaving a trail of visits to other people’s profiles, you can disable profile views. When you go to your profile page on TikTok, clicking on the “Profile Views” tab will bring up a list of all the users who have viewed your profile within the past 30 days. With this method, it is updated daily to display the users’ activity log for the specified time period.
Turning off profile views prevents you from seeing who has visited your profile and also hides the fact that you have visited other people’s profiles. Your name will no longer appear on a list of people who have viewed your profile, and neither will any of the previous information on when and how often you viewed their profiles.
If you turn it off and wait 30 days before reactivating it, your profile viewing history will be permanently erased from their system.